Donate Search Phone icon Call our Helpline: 0800 12 44 222

Nominations for Age Scotland's annual awards now open

Haydays_awards ceremony

8 May 2024

Nominations for the 2024 Age Scotland national awards, which celebrate groups and individuals who deliver outstanding services for older people, are now open.

As in previous years there will be five main categories – Volunteer of the Year, Member Group of the Year, Services to Older People, the Jess Barrow Award for Campaigning and Influencing and the Patrick Brooks Award for Best Partnership.

The 2024 winners will be announced at an in-person award ceremony, on 1 October (which is also UN Day of Older People) and will be held at the Radisson Blu hotel in Glasgow.

In more good news, film-maker Steve Jefferies will be making short films with all the winning groups and individuals to be shown at the ceremony in October. If you’ve had the pleasure of watching any of the previous videos of our winners – which are available on Age Scotland’s You Tube channel - you will know how these beautiful films manage to capture just how important the winning groups and individuals are to the older people they support.

Each year the team who sift through the nominations are blown away by the exceptional work going on across the country to support older people. From people who have been volunteering tirelessly for decades to member groups that have overcome challenges to keep the doors open for older people, the standard of entries is always impressive.

Last year, for example, Haydays in Fife won the Member Group of the Year award after demonstrating resilience when their meeting place closed and returning bigger and better than before. Janie Douglas, chairwoman of Haydays, said: “We see winning this award from Age Scotland as a recognition of the resilience and strength of older people within their community. Older people are making things happen and making it fun.”

Nominations for this year’s awards are now open and and the deadline for nominations will be 31 July.

The Age Scotland awards are always a highlight of the year and now, more than ever, we appreciate being able to celebrate the winners and hear their stories in person.

You can find out more about the awards, read about our previous winners and download a nomination form here 

We look forward to seeing who our 2024 winners will be.